BFF

While I don’t normally do the daily prompts posted in my reader each morning, this one struck me…

Daily Prompt: BFFs

What’s the most important lesson you’ve learned from the person you’re the closest to?

Oddly enough, I have learned so many valuable lessons from those I have called BFF over the years. I honestly believe certain people come into your life for a reason, however long their stay maybe, they are there for a something. They may teach you a valuable lesson, or show you a new path in life, they may change your outlook or be there to support you through a big event.

I have learned that while girlfriends can play an important role in your life, you can’t let other relationships dwindle because of them.

I have learned that not everyone is BFF with you for the same reason… and sometimes it is for VERY different reasons.

I have learned especially that we can outgrow those friendships we once thought would last forever. With time, people grow in different ways and take different paths, and as much as you want to stay close and stay friends, sometimes you just can’t. You have to let that relationship fade as you realize you are no longer the same person you were. Sometimes you outgrow them, and sometimes they outgrow you.

I’ve learned that I want to surround myself with friends I want to be like. Having someone who you have things in common with and can understand and relate to your life is important. I have learned that real true friends will not judge you, or the others your surround yourself with, instead they embrace you, inspire you and encourage you to be the best version of you.

I think the biggest lesson I have learned from my BFF is that I am me and not anyone else, and that is exactly who I am supposed to be.

Leave a Reply

