Image

Superbowl Party – Part 1

We decided to host a superbowl party this year. So of course I turned to my best friend, pinterest. I may have gone just a tad.. tad bit.. overboard. But really I think we hosted one heck of a bash! Here in 2 installments for your reading/eating/DIYing pleasure are the recipes and DIY projects that made it all happen…

Decorations

I found this super cute pin (on Pinterest of course!) for a football field table cover. So I marched right on over to the 99 cent only store and grabbed a green plastic table cloth and then hit up the Dollar Tree for some white duct tape. What I didn’t realize is that dollar store duct tape is hard as shit to cut! I duped the hubs into helping me create the field lines and he started the number but I ended up doing most of them, anyway it came out pretty cute but the numbers could have definitely looked better. Next time I think I will break out the Cricut and use that with some hot glue or something for better numbers.

SONY DSC

Moscato Punch

This is seriously one of my favorite ever pins! I didn’t take any pictures, but it really is super pretty and very yummy! All you need is…

2 bottles of Moscato (any brand will do, I usually like Barefoot or Sutter or mix 2 different kinds, trust me I’ve done it.. you’ll be fine)

1 can of frozen pink lemonade

3-4 cups of sprite (honestly, I just eyeball it…)

2 baskets of raspberries, blackberries or strawberries.

Pour all the liquids plus the lemonade in a pitcher and stir until the lemonade is combined, add in ice and 1 basket of whatever berries you ended up with. Save the remaining basket to drop a couple berries in the bottom of each glass. Drink up :)

Crockpot Meatballs

So delicious and so easy!

So delicious and so easy!

These are super easy, really yummy and everyone loves them!

You’ll need…

1 jar of grape jelly (just a regular size jar)

1 jar of chili sauce

1 bag of frozen meatballs (I use the “homestyle” kind)

I use store brand Kroger when it is cheaper, so no brand loyalty here...

I use store brand Kroger when it is cheaper, so no brand loyalty here…

Drop the entire bag of meatballs into the crockpot, add in entire jar of grape jelly and chili sauce. Set the crockpot to low for 7 – 8 hours. Stir once every hour and a half  or so to make sure all the meat balls get coated and that the sauce mixes together (the jelly tends to stay a little clumpy otherwise).

Meatballs in Crockpot

We served them straight from the crockpot on game day.

Jalapeno Poppers

Jalapeno Poppers

These were so good! And I don’t normally like anything with jalapenos, ever.

You will need..

12 Jalapenos – try to get ones that are a bit smaller not huge ones!

1 box of puff pastry – 2 sheets per box usually (in the freezer section next to the pies)

8 oz (1 block) of cream cheese

1/2 cup of bacon pieces (I left this out this time, but would definitely add it next time!)

1 cup of shredded cheese (I used colby jack original recipe called for cheddar.. you decide)

4 cloves of garlic (abt. 2 tsp of the pre-minced in the jar)

1 egg (for an egg wash)

olive oil (for greasing the baking sheet)

Preheat over to 400, slice jalapenos in half (keep seeds in if you want hot, if not gut those suckers!), in a small bowl mix together cream cheese, shredded cheese, garlic, and bacon pieces. Cut your puff pastry dough (properly dethawed according to the directions on the box of course!) into appx 3 x 3 squares (12 squares per sheet).

I only made 8 jalapenos so I cut my squares larger

Fill your jalapeno halves with the cream cheese mixture

Jalapeno Filling

Wrap them up in the puff pastry dough. I tried several different techniques for this.. all of which seemed to work just fine.

Some of them I swaddled like babies, and some of them I went sleeping bag style

Some of them I swaddled like babies, and some of them I went sleeping bag style

Mix together the egg and 3 tblsp. of cold water for your egg wash. Gently brush the top of each popper with the egg wash. Bake for 20 mins and enjoy! You could also put a little extra cheddar on top in the last 5 minutes or so if you want them extra cheesy.

Pigs in Blankets

This is such a classic, and something everyone loves.

I accidentally bought Chicken hotdogs this time, but no one seemed to know the difference and they were a bit healthier anyway so win-win!!

You will need…

1 package of hot dogs (chicken if you’d like… :) )

2 cans of crescent rolls

Cut the hot dogs in half, open the crescent rolls. Take 1 triangle of crescent and put the hotdog at the fat end and roll it up! We also tucked the open ends up to just make them look a little nicer. Done and done.

Pigs in Blankets

Pay no attention to the slowly dying plant in the background. I am a horrible house plant murderer!

Pay no attention to the slowly dying plant in the background. I am a horrible house plant murderer!

Bake according to instructions for crescent rolls, 375 degrees for 15 to 18 minutes I believe.

Stay tuned for Part 2 of the Super Bowl Party!

Leave a Reply

